We are the voice of insurance and long-term savings | Contact us

Names in the frame announced for the 2014 ABI Financial Media Awards

With less than a month to go, the ABI has announced the shortlist for its 2014 Financial Media Awards to be held on 3 April, 2014.

Sally Phillips, actress and comedian, has been confirmed as the host for the evening.  Sally is well known for her roles in Smack the Pony, the Bridget Jones films and the award winning sitcom, Miranda.

Over 250  journalists from all sectors of the financial services community and industry representatives will come together to celebrate the best of financial journalism.

This will be the eighteenth ABI Financial Media Awards and the first to be held in the prestigious venue of 8 Northumberland Avenue in central London.

For further information and to purchase a table, visit the FMA website.

Below are details of those short-listed in each of the award categories.

1) Online Journalist of the Year

Adam Uren thisismoney.co.uk
Ed Monk thisismoney.co.uk
Jo Cumbo FT Online

2) Up and Coming Financial Journalist

Ima Jackson-Obot Insurance Times
Carolina Parra-Serrano Post Magazine
Katie Marriner Post Magazine

3) Trade Publication of the Year

Financial Adviser
Money Marketing
Post Magazine

4) Consumer Champion of the Year

Dan Hyde Daily Telegraph
Jeff Prestridge Mail on Sunday
Paul Lewis BBC Moneybox

5) Broadcaster or Programme of the Year

Andrew Verity BBC
Declan Curry Radio 5
Stephanie McGovern BBC Breakfast News

6) Freelance Financial Journalist of the Year

Holly Thomas
Ian Cowie
John Greenwood

7) Financial Journalist of the Year

Dan Hyde Daily/Sunday Telegraph
Josephine Cumbo Financial Times
Miles Costello The Times

8) Financial Website of the Year

BBC news online
Daily Telegraph - your money

9) Business Journalist of the Year

Alistair Grey Financial Times
Anthony Hilton The Independent/London Evening Standard
James Salmon Daily Mail

10) Financial News Outlet of the Year

BBC News
Daily Mail
Financial Times

11) Outstanding achievement in financial journalism

Winner to be announced on the night

12) Insurance Press office of the year

Winner to be announced on the night (open to voting by journalists only - send nominations to: events@abi.org.uk)

Last updated 01/07/2016